Are you a busy on-the-go Realtor who’s always on your phone? Be careful, starting February 23rd, 2020 there’s a new hands-free driving law in Massachusetts. You’ll now have to have your phone properly mounted to your dashboard and operate it only in hands-free mode. Massachusetts law will prohibit operators of motor vehicles from using any electronic device, including mobile telephones, unless the device is used in hands-free mode.
The hands-free law will not permit you to hold or support any electronic device/phone or touch a phone except to activate the hands-free mode and can only enabled when the device is installed or properly mounted to the windshield, dashboard, or center console in a manner that does not impede the operation of the motor vehicle. Voice to text and communication to electronic devices is legal only when the device is properly mounted; use of a headphone in one ear will be permitted.
Fines will be up to $500.
The first offense is $100 fine, second offense is a $250 fine, plus mandatory completion of a distracted driving educational program. The third and subsequent offenses come with a $500 fine, plus insurance surcharge and mandatory completion of distracted driving educational program.
Be ready before February 23rd by purchasing hands free accessories today (like a wireless hands-free headphone, and car phone holder).
For more information, please visit Mass.Gov/Handsfree.