The Pre-Licensure requirements for Massachusetts were revised in 2010. For those beginning their pursuit of a real estate license, Massachusetts law requires the completion of 40 hours of pre-licensing instruction through a state-approved real estate school before you may sit for the salesperson’s exam. Separately, those wishing to obtain a real estate broker’s license must complete 40 hours of classroom instruction and must have had worked with a real estate brokerage firm for at least three years prior to applying for a broker’s license and sitting for the exam.
Once you have successfully completed the state licensing exam you may affiliate with any real estate broker you wish. Real estate brokers, of course, may also choose to open their own office.